Thursday, April 13, 2006

Spring Feasts

The four Spring Feasts consist of:

1. Passover
2. Feast of Unleavened Bread
3. Feast of Firstfruits
4. Feast of Weeks


This is the foundation of all the other feasts as the other six build upon this one. It is celebrated on the 14th of Nisan (March/April). It also begins the the religious year.

In Egypt over 3,500 years ago, the only true Passover was celebrated when a lamb was sacrificed and it's blood applied to doors so the home was "passed over" and the firstborn spared.

There has also only been one true fulfillment on this holiday. This occured over 2,000 years ago when Jesus the Messiah was pierced and His blood was spilled on the cross to spare the world of the eternal consequences of sin.

Interestingly, at the time of the Jewish exodus from Egypt, the Pharaoh was considered to be a god, therefore in their eye's god's son died when the Pharaoh's firstborn died on that original Passover.

The Hebrew slaves were "redeemed" in Egypt by the sacrifical lamb's blood. These lambs pointed to the one true Lamb of God who redeems the world.

Feast of Unleavened Bread:

This feast begins the day after Passover (15th of Nisan) and lasts for seven days. The first and seventh nights are a time of meeting or convocation between God and man. With the passing of time this holiday has come to be observed with Passover by many.

One ancient custom or tradition during this time is to sprinkle bread crumbs (leaven) throughout your house. Then the leaven is swept up, taken outside and burned. The leaven symbolizes error or evil.

Feast of Firstfruits:

This feast occurs on the second day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread or the 16th of Nisan. At this time the barley harvest (the first crop planted in the winter) is beginning to ripen. The first sheaf is cut and presented to the Lord. The acceptance of the firstfruit by the Lord is an "earnest" or pledge on His part for a full harvest.

Feast of Weeks (Shavuot):

This occurs seven weeks and one day after Firstfruits (50 days). This is also called Pentecost (meaning fiftieth). During this the Hebrews would bring two loaves of bread with leaven (yeast) in them to offer to the Lord. The loaves represent the Jews and the Gentiles and the leaven in the bread reprsents that we are still not yet without sin in our lives.

Spring Feasts Summary:

1. Passover: Redemption
Messiah the Passover Lamb has been slain for us.

2. Unleavened Bread: Sanctification
Messiah was set apart. His body would not decay in the grave.

3. Firstfruits: Resurrection
On the 3rd day Jesus rose from the grave. He was the firstfruits of the
eternal bodily resurrection that awaits all Believers.

4. Feast of Weeks: Origination
Represents the coming of the Holy Spirit to Christ's Believers.

Note: Each major event of the Messiah's first coming occurred on the precise date of the appropriate Jewish holiday.

1 comment:

Rolf said...

Happy Easter from Norway!